Tour Xtra

Other Classifications & Awards

1961 – France

1962 – St. Raphaël (Fra)


1973 – Gan – Mercier (Fra)

1974 – Gan – Mercier (Fra)

1976 – Gan – Mercier (Fra)


1978 – Raleigh (Ned)

1979 – Renault (Fra)

1980 – Raleigh (Ned)

1981 – Peugeot (Fra)

1982 – Raleigh (Ned)

1983 – Raleigh (Ned)

1984 – Panasonic – Raleigh (Ned)

1985 – La Vie Claire (Fra)

1986 – Panasonic (Ned)

1987 – Système ‘U’ (Fra)

1988 – PDM (Ned)

Team Points Classification

The points classification for teams disappeared after the 1988 edition of the Tour de France. Every day, the points per rider (1 for the winner, 2 for number 2, et cetera) of the first three riders per team were accumulated and the team with the least points won. The daily points together formed the General Team Points Classification. The riders of the leading team in this competition used to wear green caps.

In the 1960s, the classification was much more simple: the number of ‘points’ was equal to the amount of stages won by a certain team.

1968 – Franco Bitossi (Ita)

1969 – Eddy Merckx (Bel)

1970 – Eddy Merckx (Bel)

1971 – Eddy Merckx (Bel)

1972 – Eddy Merckx (Bel)

1973 – Joop Zoetemelk (Ned)

1974 – Eddy Merckx (Bel)


Grand Prix TF 1

1980 – Ludo Peeters (Bel)

1981 – Bernard Hinault (Fra)

1982 – Bernard Hinault (Fra)


Présence or Performance Classification

1985 – Greg LeMond (USA)

1986 – Greg LeMond (USA)

1987 – Jean-François Bernard (Fra)

1988 – Steven Rooks (Ned)

1989 – Steven Rooks (Ned)

Combination Classification

The most irregularly calculated classification is undoubtedly the Combination Classification. As the name should indicate, this classification used to combine some (three or four) competitions in the Tour de France: General, Points, Mountains and also (in the years 1984-1989) the Intermediate Sprints.

In 1968 it was calculated for the first time and Franco Bitossi from Italy took the honour of being the first winner. Back then, the leader was awarded the White Jersey. With the disappearance of this classification in 1975, this jersey was transferred to the Best Young Rider in the Tour.

From 1980-1982, the classification was re-introduced and sponsored by French tv station TF1. Another re-introduction followed in 1985, under the name Présence Classification, with a jersey showing the colors of the four competitions; but not for long: through 1989.

“Flèche d’Or”:

1968 Georges Pintens (Bel)

(thanks Pieter van den Akker)



Most Friendly Rider:

1977 – Dietrich Thurau (Ger)

1980 – Vicente Belda (Esp)

1985 – Czeslaw Lang (Pol)

1986 – Peio Ruiz Cabestany (Esp)

1987 – Frédéric Brun (Fra)



Best Teammate:

1977 – Joseph Bruyère (Bel)

1984 – Bernard Bourreau (Fra)

1985 – Thierry Claveyrolat (Fra)

1986 – Bruno Leali (Ita)


Fair Play Award:

1986 – Joop Zoetemelk (Ned)

1992 Stephen Roche (Irl)

1993 Gianni Bugno (Ita)

(thanks Ivano Bardini)

1994 – Dzamolidine Abduzhaparov (Uzb)

Europe Sans Frontières

In the Tour de France of 1992, the route crossed a European border seven times. Everytime the riders had to pass one of them, a special intermediate sprint was held. Winner of the classification of seven sprints was Russian rider Viatcheslav Ekimov.


Le Centenaire

In 2003, the Tour de France celebrated its 100th anniversary. A special classification was made up adding the classifications in all of the six cities that hosted a stage finish in the first Tour in 1903. Winner of this classification was Stuart O‘Grady (Aus).


Prix de l’Europe Elargie

Also in 2003, a special classification was only open for riders from the 10 countries that were to join the European Union in 2004. Czech René Andrle won this prize.

Minor Awards

Throughout the years, but especially in the 1980s the Tour direction awarded even more trophies, all of little importance:

If you know the winners of (one of)  the above classifications, of the years not listed, or of more classifications and awards in the history of the Tour, I would be very glad to receive information and/or winners’ lists.